Join largest virtual meeting of seniors on National Seniors Day

CARP National Seniors Day online event 2020

2020 marks the 10th anniversary of National Seniors Day in Canada, but it also represents a much more solemn milestone.

More than 82% of COVID-19 related deaths are connected to long-term care homes—over 7,500 vulnerable residents have succumbed to the virus to date. More than just a statistic, this number represents real people with names and faces, and with important life stories that must be remembered.

With this in mind, CARP is hosting Canada’s largest-ever virtual meeting of seniors (click here for event information) to talk about what happened and why, as well as how to protect our vulnerable older people in the coming months. Just as importantly, the event serves to remember those who lost their lives; not as statistics, but as parents, grandparents, teachers, mentors—real people who we failed to protect. A national Minute of Silence will serve as a powerful reminder that one death due to negligence in long-term care is one too many.

The free online event, comprising both a national and regional portion which will directly tackle seniors’ issues in your part of Canada, brings together a panel of very special guests to explore critical topics affecting older adults and offers an empowering message of hope on this milestone occasion.

CARP National Seniors Day Online Event

Event Details

Thursday October 1st, 2020

10 AM Pacific

11 AM Mountain

12 PM Central

1 PM Eastern

2 PM Atlantic

2:30 PM Newfoundland

Agenda

Subject to change

  • Welcome message from Prime Minister Justin Trudeau
  • Messages from Opposition Parties
  • Celebration of seniors with messages from Kurt Browning, Mary Walsh, Aislin, Haley Wickenheiser, Michael Pinball Clemons, Hazel McCallion and more.
  • Q&A with Federal Seniors Minister, The Honourable Deb Schulte.
  • Presentation by CARP Chief Policy Officer, Bill VanGorder
  • Minute of Silence and Reflection in honour of seniors killed by COVID-19 in long-term care

Interested in participating in this free event?

Click here to save your virtual seat

Already registered?

Join the event here on Oct 1